3. Ann Arbor School for the Performing Arts

This is the week!

Tuesday I officially start at the Ann Arbor School for the Performing Arts, and I’m very excited.

What I learned during my interview process is that my main task for the local music NPO will be the revamping of their website.  I love this because we were just accessing their site the other day in class, and so I have a lot of suggestions from all of you that I’ll be able to add to my own.

I don’t know the finer details, or limitations of my assignment yet, but my biggest hope for the project is to be able add a “New Students” section to the page–which will allow people with no prior knowledge of musical study to locate the courses that interest them or their children.

Website coding is probably what I’m most excited to learn about during this internship, so I’m glad that will be my focus.  I think being versed in html will be a huge boon in my future career choices.  I’ve never done html coding before, so I’m a little nervous, but I believe this will be a great opportunity to learn, and I’m hoping to be able to apply more of what we cover in class to my work.

Aside from the site revamp, I will also be working on creating content for the AASPA’s e-newsletter.  They are also planning a large fundraiser in May, and I believe I will be involved with that process.  I have a feeling that it might become a focal point for this blog–the second half of the semester especially.

Unfortunately, that’s all I have to report at the moment.  I’m looking forward to finding out more about my projects this Tuesday.  I’ll keep you all posted on my progress!

 

3 thoughts on “3. Ann Arbor School for the Performing Arts

    • We’ve figure out most of the complications we were bumping into regarding coding for the AA-SPA website. The Q LTD template we us was giving us some trouble, but we had a meeting with one of their representatives over spring break and got most of our questions answered.

      As for the May fundraiser, social media hasn’t quite come into the picture yet. Right now we’re finalizing the graphics for posters and “old” media flyers. When that’s done I believe the plan is to begin posting the images and updates about the fundraiser on the webpage and social media sites. I’ve been working on the graphic pretty much exclusively–via Photoshop–on top of updating the web-page content.

  1. Hi Lisa, I hope your internship is going well! I think the “New Students” section is a great idea and a good way to make the site friendly to both musicians and non-musicians. I’d love to hear more about how the internship is going in another update 🙂

Leave a comment